Getting Married in Kenya

Article 45 of the Constitution provides for the recognition of the family as the basic natural and fundamental unit of society and thus has to be recognized and protected by the state. Consequently, the Marriage Act, 2014 was enacted to give effect to these constitutional provisions.


The Marriage Act, 2014 defines a marriage as a voluntary union of a man and a woman whether in a monogamous or polygamous union and registered under this Act.

The Marriage Act, 2014 recognizes five (5) systems of Marriage, namely:

  • Civil Marriages
  • Christian Marriages
  • Hindu Marriages
  • Customary Marriages
  • Islamic Marriages

Services offered by the Registrar of Marriages

Did you Know

  1. Online Marriage Services is only for Nairobi County;
  2. You can register your marriage at your local District / Sub County Commissioner’s Office;
  3. You can register your Marriage at your local Registrar of Marriages in Nakuru, Eldoret, Kisumu, Malindi, Embu, Meru, Kisii, and Machakos.