The International Law Division is one among the nine divisions of the OAG&DOJ and is further designated as the Registry of Treaties under the Treaty Making and Ratification Act. The division is charged with the following responsibilities. To:

1. Advise government ministries, departments, agencies, commissions and state corporations on international law

2. Negotiate, draft, vet and provide legal advice on local and international agreements and treaties for and on behalf of the government departments, state corporations and commissions originating from regional and international organizations including the European Union, Common Market for East and Southern Africa, African Union, United Nations, Specialized agencies, Programmes and Funds (International Monetary Fund, World Bank, International Finance Corporation, Africa Development Bank etc).

3. Provide legal advice to the Government on the activities of bodies, commissions and other international organizations that require submission of a country position.