14th April 2017, by Department of Public Communications
The Government of Kenya will host the 56th Annual Session of the Asian African Legal Consultative Organisation (AALCO) from 1st May 2017 to the 5th May 2017. The International Law Conference is expected to bring together Attorneys General and Ministers of Justice from 47 governments from Asia and Africa.

The Conference jointly organized by the Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice will focus on various international law matters dealing with Violent Extremism and Terrorism, The Status and Treatment of Refugees with a particular concern on Refugees and Migrants. The Conference will also address environmental concerns touching on the protection of the atmosphere while examining the emerging issue of International law in cyberspace. Immunity of State Officials from Foreign Criminal Jurisdiction will also be discussed as well as Promoting Rule of law in Asia and Africa. Combating illegal trade on wild flora and fauna as part of the transnational organized crimes will form part of the discourse within International Law Framework.
AALCO, a forum for consultation amongst 47 member states provides advise in matters of international law as well as cooperation in legal matters. Key concerns that AALCO advise on include extradition law, treatment of foreign nationals, State immunity and commercial transactions, the law of the Sea, conflict of laws in international trade, law of treaties, as well as mutual legal assistance in criminal matters and debt relief.
During the 55th AALCO Session held in May 2016 in New Delhi, India, Kenya was unanimously elected as the Vice-Chair of the Working Group on International Law in Cyberspace by the Member States of AALCO. Kenya has twice hosted AALCO; during the 28th Session in 1989 and the 44th Session in 2005.
Speakers expected to address the 400 delegates from Asia and Africa include President Uhuru Kenya, and the Secretary General of AALCO, Professor Kennedy Gastorn, from the United Republic of Tanzania.
The Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (AALCO), originally known as the Asian Legal Consultative Committee (ALCC) was constituted on 15th November 1956 by Seven Asian States, namely Burma (now Myanmar), Ceylon (now Sri Lanka), India, Indonesia, Iraq, Japan, and the United Arab Republic (now Arab Republic of Egypt and Syrian Arab Republic). Later, in April 1958, to include participation of African countries, its name was changed to Asian-African Legal Consultative Committee (AALCC). At the 40th Session, held at the Headquarters of AALCC in New Delhi, in 2001, the name of the Committee was changed to Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (AALCO).